Bodies of EU – European Commission

Bodies of EU – European Commission

The main bodies of the European Union are:

  • the seven institutions of the European Union
  • the agencies of the European Union

The main European Institutions are: the European Councilthe European Commission, the Council of the European Union and the European Parliament.

In this article we will explain what is it and what are the functions of European Commission.

1.What is European Commission

The European Commission is the EU’s politically independent executive arm. It is alone responsible for drawing up proposals for new European legislation, and it implements the decisions of the European Parliament and the Council of the EU.


The departments and executive agencies of the Commission are based in Brussels and Luxembourg.

Weekly meetings of the Commissioners take place in the Brussels headquarters and in Strasbourg.

3.Members of European Commission

Political leadership is provided by a team of 27 Commissioners (one from each EU country) – led by the Commission President, who decides who is responsible for which policy area.

The College of Commissioners is composed of the President of the Commission, eight Vice-Presidents, including three Executive Vice-Presidents, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, and 18 Commissioners, each responsible for a portfolio.

The day-to-day running of Commission business is performed by its staff (lawyers, economists, etc.), organised into departments known as Directorates-General (DGs), each responsible for a specific policy area.

Decisions are taken based on collective responsibility. All Commissioners are equal in the decision-making process and equally accountable for these decisions. They do not have any individual decision-making powers, except when authorized in certain situations.

The curent president of commission from december 2019. is Ursula von der Leyen.

The EU commissioners serve for 5 years and after that they cannot be reelected again.

4.What does the Commission do?

Proposes new laws

  • The Commission is the sole EU institution tabling laws for adoption by the Parliament and the Council that:
  • protect the interests of the EU and its citizens on issues that can’t be dealt with effectively at national level
  • get technical details right by consulting experts and the public

Manages EU policies & allocates EU funding

  • sets EU spending priorities, together with the Council and Parliament
  • draws up annual budgets for approval by the Parliament and Council
  • supervises how the money is spent, under scrutiny by the Court of Auditors

Enforces EU law

  • together with the Court of Justice, ensures that EU law is properly applied in all the member countries

Represents the EU internationally

  • speaks on behalf of all EU countries in international bodies, in particular in areas of trade policy and humanitarian aid
  • negotiates international agreements for the EU

6 Commission priorities for 2019-24

  • A European Green Deal: Europe aims to be the first climate-neutral continent by becoming a modern, resource-efficient economy.
  • A Europe fit for the digital age: The EU’s digital strategy will empower people with a new generation of technologies.
  • An economy that works for people: The EU must create a more attractive investment environment, and growth that creates quality jobs, especially for young people and small businesses.
  • A stronger Europe in the world: The EU will strengthen its voice in the world by championing multilateralism and a rules-based global order.
  • Promoting European way of life: Europe must protect the rule of law if it is to stand up for justice and the EU’s core values.
  • A new push for European democracy: to give Europeans a bigger say and protect our democracy from external interference such as disinformation and online hate messages.